It took me at least 10 tries to beat this boss (and I love it)

'twas me axe that killed the beast.

’twas me axe that killed the beast.

I’m still hacking away at Lords of the Fallen.  I just beat my 6th boss, officially surpassing the number of bosses I beat in Bloodborne.  I’m not sure what to make of the bosses’ names.  They don’t make sense.  The one I just beat is called, “Beast.”  He looks like a beast.  So did the one before it.  At any rate, it took me at least 10 tries to best Beast.  At first it felt more like 15 to 20 times.  My best guess is that I died a dozen times before finally figuring out the perfect combination of weapons and strategy.  I’m not celebrating how many times the game killed me, not at all.  I’m not one of those psycho Dark Souls/Bloodborne players who take archaic game design as a positive feature.  When I buy a console game made in this millennium I expect it to come with all the advances that come with games made in this millennium, not the least of which are CHECKPOINTS.

Keeping my distance

Keeping my distance

Based solely on the number of attempts it took me to slaughter Beast, it is harder than the first five bosses I beat in Bloodborne.  Time-wise it took me somewhere between an hour to an hour and a half, which in Bloodborne would be enough to get to try a boss fight maybe three times.  Did I say it took me a minimum of 10 tries to beat Beast?  Yet the game is highly respectful of my time and it was modern enough to have a CHECKPOINT right before the boss fight.  That means when I die, I get to start right at the boss fight.  Not only that, all my health potions are refilled.  That means no grinding or farming for nearly an hour just to retry a boss battle.  Lords of the Fallen has its highs and lows, but it is not the garbage of game design that the Souls games and Bloodborne are.  For the full battle, watch the video below.

Leave a Reply

