Nioh: Will it be the right kind of hard or just another cheap shot?

nioh-hitotsume-oni-screen-01-ps4-us-10nov16

So I preordered Nioh.  It comes out exclusively for the PS4 on February 7.  I’m not a super fan of notoriously difficult games, but I did beat Bloodborne and Dark Souls 3.  That doesn’t exactly qualify me as a “Souls veteran,” but at least I can (proudly) say that I have beaten a Souls game or two.  Frankly, I did not enjoy the difficulty of Bloodborne or Dark Souls III.  99% of its famed difficulty are artificial and have to do with the total absence of a modern checkpoint system.  I did love the tight and precise combat, which remained enjoyable throughout.  What made me stay, however, are the immersive worlds and the sense of adventure they offered.  I could’ve done without the punishing difficulty.  Fans say that it’s the frustration that makes it all the more rewarding when you finally get the better of a boss that took you hours to defeat.  All crap.  It took me 10 hours to beat the final boss in DS3.  Sigh of relief, maybe, but not elation.


As I am writing this I am beginning to think I may have made a mistake by preordering Nioh, a game that many say could actually be harder than Dark Souls.  Team Ninja is desperate to win back fans and seems hell bent on getting the recognition of making a game that is tougher than all the Souls titles, by whatever means necessary.  I sense cheap.  Team Ninja is talking big.  I really doubt their ability to make a game that is as fair as it is tough.  They just want to hear people say that Nioh is harder than every Dark Souls game.  They will leave it to the keyboard warriors to defend Nioh for them.  “Git gud.”  That’s the typical response you’ll get from “hardcore” Souls fans whenever their beloved franchise is criticized.  I hope I’m wrong about Nioh.  I’ve seen its difficulty in action.  I’m really hoping that somehow, my play style and my natural instincts will by some stroke of luck, coincide with Nioh’s systems to make it a very enjoyable experience for me.  I really want this game to work out for me.  I love the setting as I’ve always been fascinated with the samurai. I guess I’ll find out in about two weeks.

Leave a Reply

